Salla Savolainen
Publication date
Tammi Publishers
Format info

Ruby & Ficelle Series

Heinähattu ja Vilttitossu

The sweet and responsible Ruby and the spirited Ficelle are quite different to be sisters. The girls’ family includes their mother and their loving but impractical father. Their adventures often involve their neighbors, the Misses Alibullen, and the two town policemen. The first Ruby and Ficelle book was published in 1989. The series made a fresh comeback with Salla Savolainen’s quirky and sweet illustrations in 2012.

Ruby and Ficelle books have been translated into twelve languages and adapted into plays, a feature film and an opera. Winner of the Anni Swan Medal in 2003 and the Plättä Award in 2006, the series was also listed in 1001 children’s books you must read before you grow up.


Rights sold

Chinese, Hubei Children’s Press
Danish, Turbine
French, Didier Jeunesse
Hungarian, Cerkabella
Lithuanian, Nieko Rimto
Turkish, Beyaz Balina Yayinlari

Ruby & Ficelle books have also been published in (Rights reverted):
Estonia, Japan, Latvia, Russia, Serbia and Sweden


Ruby & Ficelle books

Illustrated by Salla Savolainen:
R&F and Christmas Gift (2017)
R&F and the Arty Neighbours (2016)
R&F as Poets (2015)
R&F and Big Elsa (2014)
R&F and the Annoying Pest (2014)
R&F and the Sassy Schoolgirl (2013)
R&F and Baldy Bob (2012)
Illustrated by Markus Majaluoma:
R&F’s Year (2006)
R&F and the Forbidden Fish (2005)
R&F and the Dancing Constable (2003)
R&F and the Arty Neighbours (2001)
R&F and the Annoying Pest (1999)
R&F and Big Elsa (1997)
R&F on the Chase (1995)
R & F Look for Christmas (1993)
R&F Need a Vacation (1992)
R&F and Grandpa (1991)
R&F and the Baby (1990)
Ruby & Ficelle (1989)