Publication date
May 2021
Format info



In this dazzling third instalment by the Glass Key nominated writer, a web of violent crimes exposes a darker truth.

The Oath, winner of the 2020 Johtolanka Prize for Crime Novel of the Year, propelled Arttu Tuominen’s crime series to heady heights and earned him a nomination for the prestigious 2021 Glass Key Award. Jeopardy followed, raising the bar even higher and now comes Silenced, the astonishing third, standalone book in the River Delta series with plot echoes of Henning Mankell’s Return of the Dancing Master by a rising star being hailed as Finland’s answer to Ragnar Jónasson.

When Albert Kangasniemi, a 98-year-old war veteran, is the victim of an especially violent attack, Pori’s police unit are called to investigate. Police Commissioner Jari Paloviita, along with his colleagues Henrik ‘the Ox’ Oksman and Linda Toivonen, suspect that the crime may belong to a web of incomprehensibly cruel attacks on the defenceless elderly.

Their investigation takes a dramatic turn when they find an old Waffen-SS uniform in one of the victim’s apartments. In carefully constructed flashbacks, Tuominen examines how the choices we make can affect the rest of our lives, exploring the brutality of those who joined Waffen-SS during the 1941 Ceasefire. In the end it is up to Jari and his colleagues to decide whether there are some things that cannot be forgiven.

Arttu Tuominen (b. 1981) is a Finnish environmental inspector moonlighting as a crime writer. Tuominen was awarded the Johtolanka Prize for The Oath, garnering praise for the novel’s cleverly constructed flashbacks and realistic dialogue, making him eligible for the Glass Key Award. Tuominen’s writing is distinctive for giving a compassionate and relatable voice to those on both sides of the law. He lives in the south-western Finnish town of Pori with his family.


The Oath, 2019
Jeopardy, 2020
Silenced, due May 2021


Finnish PDF
English Sample Translation, 40pp (due April)
Series Presentation Books 1-6
Author Letter

Prizes and nominations

Winner of the Johtolanka Prize for Crime Novel of the Year 2020
Nominated for the Glass Key Award 2021


Danish (Modtryk)
French (La Martinière)
German (Bastei Lübbe)
Italian (Piemme)
The Netherlands (De Fontein)
Swedish (Lind & Co)