Mika Waltari
Publication date
Format info
396 pages

The Locked Box and Other Stories

Lukittu laatikko ja muita kertomuksia

A selection of short stories published by Mika Waltari from 1926-1957.

The Locked Box and Other Stories is a selection of Mika Waltari’s short stories and fairytales, including This Kind of Thing Never HappensThe Freedom of People, and Before the End of the World. 

Mika Waltari (1908-1979) is the most popular 20th century Finnish writer who is best known for his magnus opus The Egyptian. Over a career that spanned five decades, Waltari published well over 100 works, of which 200 translations have been made. His works include at least 30 novels, 20 plays and 15 novellas, as well as short stories, poems, screenplays and essays. In 1957 he was appointed to the Academy of Finland, having previously won the state literature award five times. Waltari’s works have been translated into over 40 languages.