Tiina Laitila Kälvemark

Stockholm-based journalist and author Tiina Laitila Kälvemark (b. 1970) is from north-central Finland. Her debut work, the short story collection The Lost Shore (2012) deals with sensations of alienation and detachment, in particular among Finnish emigrants to Sweden. The work was a Runeberg Prize nominee and one of the stories, The Hare, won the Umeå prize in Sweden’s largest short-story competition in 2011. Her debut novel Of Stones and Silence (2015) was shortlisted as Finland’s candidate for the EUPL (European Union Prize for Literature) among other awards, and was praised by literary critics of the country. Laitila Kälvemark’s second novel The Seventh Spring (2017) is a poweful, topical description of love, greed, and of the price of dreams asking the reader “who pays the price, and for whose happiness”.

Laitila Kälvemark’s short stories have been published in anthologies and journals in English and German.

Awards and nominations

2018 Shortlisted for the Finnish Literary Export Prize
2017 Shortlisted for the Bothnia Prize
2016 Shortlisted for Finland’s Candidate for the European Union Prize for Literature
2015 Shortlisted for the Tiiliskivi Prize
2015 Shortlisted for the Toisinkoinen Award
2013 Kaisa Vilhuinen Literature Prize (Sweden)
2013 Shortlisted for the Runeberg Prize


The Seventh Spring (Seitsemäs kevät, WSOY 2017)
Of Stones and Silence (Karkulahti, novel, WSOY 2015)
The Lost Shore (Kadonnut ranta, short stories, WSOY 2012)