Arttu Tuominen first ever Finnish writer to be awarded the Palle Rosenkrantz Prize!

We’re delighted to share that Arttu Tuominen is the first ever Finnish writer to be awarded the annual Palle Rosenkrantz Prize for the best crime fiction novel published in Danish by The Danish Academy of Crime Writers for Sendebuddet (FI: Hyvitys; EN: Jeopardy), the Danish translation of the second book in Tuominen’s acclaimed ‘River Delta’ series, translated by Siri Nordborg Møller, and published by Modtryk in 2022.

The literary prize is named after writer and lawyer Palle Rosenkrantz, who wrote the first Danish crime novel, Hvad skovsøen gemte in 1903. Previous prizewinner include, P.D. James, Arne Dahl, Jo Nesbø, Ian Rankin, Michael Connelly, and Håkan Nesser.

“They are fierce, these Finns, and this year, one of their best crime writers, Arttu Tuominen is awarded The Rosenkrantz Prize for Sendebuddet,” said the jury, adding that, Tuominen’s writing is “like moonshine when writing about brutally, bitter souls.”

Our warmest congratulations to Arttu, Siri, and Modtryk on this distinguished accolade!

The ‘River Delta’ series has been translated into 7 languages to date and is being developed into a TV series.