Saija Kuusela
Publication date
Format info
352 pages

Look at Me


From debut novelist Saija Kuusela comes a new psychological thriller series, in the tradition of Stina Jackson and Camilla Läckberg.

Mystery and atmosphere combine as the cold sea winds greet a newcomer to the community: Nea Guttorm.

Walking out on her rapidly deteriorating marriage, half-Sámi police officer Nea decides to leave Oslo and move up north, settling in an isolated village between the fjords and the fells. Putting the jealousy and anger of her controlling relationship behind her, Nea can’t think of anything better than embracing the solitude of the mountains by starting a quiet job in the local police unit.

But almost as soon as Nea arrives, the community is shaken to its core when an unidentified man’s body is discovered in an icy mountain stream, with the man’s eyes removed.

The police, with the empathetic and driven Nea Guttorm at the fore, get to work identifying the body and interviewing potential suspects. But as the days stack up, the police aren’t getting any closer to finding any answers. And to make matters worse, Nea finds herself haunted by disturbing memories of her ex-husband and the fights that consumed the end of their relationship. Then, one day, she has a vision of a hand grasping a long-edged knife.

Who does the body belong to? How is almost every witness unreliable? And why can’t Nea shake the uncomfortable feeling that the key to solving the mystery lies within her visions?

Look at Me is a story of passion, revenge, and the burning darkness that resides within each of us. In the tradition of Stina Jackson and Camilla Läckberg, Kuusela masterfully describes the Scandinavian wilderness, taking her readers to some magnificently dark places.

The author is currently writing her next novel in the Nea Guttorm series with the working title Avalanche (Vyöry) due out in 2022.


Finnish PDF
Full unedited English translationc
Author letter


Look at me (Katse, Tammi 2021)
Avalanche (Vyöry, Tammi due in 2022)