Author(s)
Maija Kajanto
Illustrator(s)
Publication date
July 2022
Publisher
WSOY
Format info
320 pages

Summer at The Birch Tree Cafe

Korvapuustikesä

Bestselling Nordic feelgood

A delectable summertime novel and opener of a new trilogy that will leave readers craving more…

After an unfortunate episode involving ludicrous amounts of lo-vage, professional recipe developer Kristiina ‘Krisse’ Kivimaa throws in the towel at her stressful job in a test kitchen in Hel-sinki. She heads to a small lakeside village in the middle of Fin-land, where her beloved grandmother, Helmi, needs help run-ning The Birch Tree Cafe, after breaking her leg. Both Krisse and the cafe need a new lease of life, so Krisse immediately rolls up her sleeves and gets stuck in. It’s not long before an old flame reappears and past events, which Krisse would rather forget, threaten to disturb her new life. Is it truly possible to escape the ghosts of the past? And are there those moments when nothing truly beats a good cinnamon bun to cure all ills, from broken hearts to aching feet?

SUMMER AT THE BIRCH TREE CAFE is an eminently devourable and life-affirming novel with a generous sprinkling of humour and lots of heart that will transport readers to the land of a thousand lakes where cosy, red cottages and the scent of freshly-baked goods abound. The perfect read for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond, and Kajsa Ingemarsson.

WINTER AT THE BIRCH TREE CAFE, Book 2 in The Birch Tree Cafe trilogy, will be published in Finland in November (WSOY, 231 pp).

Material

Finnish Edition
English Sample Translation, 37 pp
Synopsis
Author Letter
Reviews

Reviews

‘Like fresh summer rain.’ **** — Seura magazine, Finland

‘Entertaining summer reading with a well-paced story and recipes as a bonus.’ — Kotona kirjassa blog, Finland ‘There is a place for lightness and entertainment and SUMMER AT THE BIRCH CAFE fulfils this need superlatively.’ — Kirsin kirjanurkka blog, Finland

‘A truly delicious story hiding inside the beautiful covers of this book.’ — Luetut.net blog, Finland