Miki Liukkonen

After publishing two acclaimed collections of poetry, Miki Liukkonen (b. 1989) made his novel début with Children Under the Sun (2013). The book was shortlisted for the 2014 Runeberg Prize.

The second novel from Liukkonen, O (2017), painted across an outrageously large canvas, is a megalomaniacal and encyclopaedic narrative of ordinary people and extraordinary events, neuroses, stubborn fixed ideas, and the irrational things that we shudder at, just as a child fears a starless night. All the things you know and have felt, but which it is most unlikely you have ever read on the pages of a book. The novel has been shortlisted for the 2017 Finlandia Fiction Award.


Awards and nominations

2018 Shortlisted for Runeberg Prize
2017 Shortlisted for Finlandia Fiction Award
2017 Shortlisted for Bothnia Prize
2014 Shortlisted for Runeberg Prize
2011 Shortlisted for The Best Debut of the Year Prize
2009 Winner of J. H. Erkko Writing Competition



O (O, novel, WSOY 2017)
The History of  Rage (Raivon historia, poems, WSOY 2015)
Children under the Sun (Lapset auringon alla, novel, WSOY 2013)
Elisabeth (Elisabeth, poems, WSOY 2012)
White Poems (Valkoisia runoja, poems, WSOY 2011)