Anja Snellman

Anja Snellman, formerly Kauranen (b. 1954), is the most widely read author of her generation in Finland. She burst onto the literary scene in 1981 with Sonia O. Was Here, her phenomenal debut novel. With her novel Surrendering in 2015, she gave a face to the experience of the highly sensitive person. The novel provoked lively discussion, and the feedback from readers was overwhelming.

Snellman has written more than twenty novels, in addition to poetry collections, screenplays, works of nonfiction, and radio plays. Her books have been translated into more than twenty languages and adapted for the screen and stage.

A feature film based on Autumn Prince, her novel published in 1996, premiered in October 2016.

Snellman has led the Helsinki Book Fair and the Vaasa Literature Festival. She has also worked as a journalist and hosted topical talk shows on television.


“Her mastery of language, together with the exceptional courage with which she meets her subjects head on, and the often provocative beat of her prose have earned her a permanent place among major writers in the world of Finnish contemporary literature.” – World Literature Today


Bonnier Rights Finland represents the international publishing rights to all novels by Anja Snellman.

Please note: the updating of this site is in progress.



Closer (Lähestyminen, WSOY 2016)
Surrendering: A Life Story (Antautuminen, WSOY 2015)
Poems of Crime (Runoksia, WSOY 2014)
Capital: A Requiem (Pääoma, Otava 2013)
Ivana B. (Siltala 2012)
At Night We Are the Same (Öisin olemme samanlaisia,poems, Siltala 2011)
Balcony Gods (Parvekejumalat, Otava 2010)
– translated into Polish
Pet Shop Girls (Lemmikkikaupan tytöt, Otava 2007)
– translated into Czech, English, Italian, Polish and Spanish
Continents: A Love Story (Rakkauden maanosat, Otava 2005)
– translated into Czech
You May Begin Now (Saa kirjoittaa, poems, Otava 2004)
Fardom (Lyhytsiipiset, Otava 2003)
– translated into Norwegian and Swedish
Mother and Dog (Äiti ja koira, Otava 2002)
– translated into Latvian and Lithuanian
Safari Club (Otava 2001)
– translated into Czech, German and Swedish
Aura (Otava 2000)
Map of Paradise (Paratiisin kartta, Otava 1999)
– translated into German and Swedish
Bonds and Ties (Side, WSOY 1998)
Lauri of Arabia (Arabian Lauri, WSOY 1997)
Autumn Prince (Syysprinssi, WSOY 1996)
– translated into Estonian, French and Turkish
Geography of Fear (Pelon maantiede, WSOY 1995)
– translated into Danish, German and Swedish
A Time for Skin (Ihon aika, WSOY 1993)
– translated into Czech, Dutch, French, German, Norwegian and Swedish
Children of Longing and Energy (Kaipauksen ja energian lapset, WSOY 1991)
Chinese Summer (Kiinalainen kesä, WSOY 1989)
Where We See Darkness (Pimeää vain meidän silmillemme, WSOY 1987)
What About Goldmouth (Kultasuu, WSOY 1985)
Tushka (WSOY 1983)
Sonia O. Was Here (Sonja O. kävi täällä, WSOY 1981)
– translated into Czech