Sinikka Nopola

Sinikka Nopola (1956-2020) has authored dramatic novels, short prose, radio drama, plays, lyrics, and television drama, as well as short stories, columns and causeries for the monthly supplement of the leading Finnish newspaper Helsingin Sanomat.

With her sister Tiina Nopola, she has co-authored the children’s book series Ruby & Ficelle (Heinähattu ja Vilttitossu) and Wills & Nelli (Risto Räppääjä) as well as several plays, musicals and screenplays.

Sinikka Nopola was born in Helsinki, but she spent her childhood and youth in Tampere. She studied at the University of Tampere, receiving a bachelor’s degree in humanities. Sinikka worked as a journalist for Helsingin Sanomat in 1979–1985. Since 1985, she has built herself a very succesful career as an author and freelance journalist.

Selection of Works

The Ruby & Ficelle series
Illustrated by Salla Savolainen:

R&F: The Chicken, 2019
R&F and the Silly Angel,
R&F and the Christmas Gift,
R&F and the Arty Neighbours,
R&F as Poets, 2015 S
R&F and Big Elsa, 2014
R&F and the Annoying Pest, 2014
R&F and the Sassy Schoolgirl, 2013
R&F and Baldy Bob, 2012

Illustrated by Markus Majaluoma:

R&F’s Year, 2006
R&F and the Forbidden Fish,
R&F and the Dancing Constable,
R&F and the Arty Neighbours, 2001
R&F and Big Elsa, 1997
R&F and the Annoying Pest, 1999 
R&F on the Chase,
R&F Look for Christmas,
R&F and Need a Holiday,
R&F and Grandpa,
R&F and the Baby,
Ruby & Ficelle, 1989

The Wills & Nelli series
Illustrated by Christel Rönns:

W&N: Shy Elmer, 2019
W&N: Julia the Schemer, 2018
W&N: The Artist Within, 2017
W&N: Something in Common, 2016
W&N: The Unusual Suspects, 2015
W&N: The Scrooge of Seville, 2014
W&N: The Lookalike, 2013
W&N: Nelli’s Plight, 2012

Illustrated by Aino Havukainen and Sami Toivonen:

W&N: Wills’ New Dad, 2011
W&N: Star Struck, 2009
W&N: The Last Ice-Cream, 2007
W&N: A Gaming Frenzy, 2006
W&N: Teacher’s Pet, 2004
W&N: The Persistent Pimple, 2003
W&N: Dandy Andy, 2002
W&N: Freezer Fran, 2001
Wills & Nelli, 2000
Wills McFinn and the Horrible Sausage, 1998
Wills McFinn, 1997